Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Zealandia
7 janvier 2020

A few NZ encounters

Volunteer, Auckland harbour visitor centre (60ish)

Yes a lot of things depend on volunteers here, libraries, fire fighters, community gardens..

We have a special life here, and we feel very vulnerable. China's trying to take all we've got… and the British, well they betrayed us by joining Europe.

 

The jigsaw man, Christchurch library (60s, string bag)

I come in almost every day. Can you see where this yellow bit goes ? They've got lots here.

 

Receptionist, Christchurch YMCA (50s)

Oh, this place was all right during the quake, just cracks and dust. We got a new carpet out of it didn't we Jan ? Not like my house out in the suburbs, it all sank. We went to court, paid lawyers, but we never got the insurance…

 

Man cleaning fish he'd caught, Greymouth wharf (40s)

It was easy to find work and come over 15 years ago. My wife and I had had enough of Britain, I'd never go back. It's so much better for the kids. Yes I catch something each time, but fish numbers have really declined… its the Chinese.

 

Barmaid with a cleavage, Lumsden rural pub, Saturday night (20s)

Glad you like the pizza ! No I taught myself. They're sponsoring me to get my visa, it was too hard in Australia. But I'll go there later. Home ? I'm French, from Trie sur Baise. I won't go back.

 

The Backpackers’ receptionist, Haast (20s)

I got ze job eezily, by email, one moment… allo ? allo ? Yes madame, ok, zat’s  aaa- some ! Maybe you call back ? Ah la la !

 

The holiday park managers on  holiday, Motueka (40s)

Ours is a Christian camp. Yes we're church goers, we've just come out for a coffee here. People like to meet up in cafés, have a cheese scone or a slice… or just relax in the armchairs, read the papers… no one’s in a hurry to go home.

 

The sheep farmer turned motelier, Hammer Springs (60)

Yes, some farmers commit suicide here too. A while ago China’s price for milk halved and interest rates doubled. I sold off to my neighbour, he ran off with my wife. We all won out : He got the land and my wife, the kids will still inherit it, I get a good price and buy this motel in a great place. Doing well, but the Chinese dont like it. They find the silence at night scary.

 

The hill running family, Hammer Springs (40s)

Well done Jack ! 8 mins 20 ! 15 seconds off last year ! We come here every year. Sometimes we go to Samoa or Fiji. New Caledonia ? You're right, it's not far, and different… but they don't speak English do they ?


Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Zealandia
Publicité
Zealandia est un continent immergé sous 1000m d'océan Pacifique à l'est de l'Australie, dont seules deux pointes émergent : la Nouvelle-Zélande et la Nouvelle Calédonie. Partis de Tarbes le 1er dé-cembre 2019, nous serons de retour le 27 janvier 2020.

Zealandia 2

  01 décembre 19 : Tarbes-Paris
  02-04 décembre : Dubaï
  04-07 décembre : Delhi
  08-16 décembre : Australia (Cairns->Brisbane)
  16 déc.-08 janv.  : New-Zealand
  08-11 janvier       : Nouvelle-Calédonie
  11-15 janvier       : Polynésie Française
  15-25 janvier       : USA
  27 janvier 2020   : Paris-Tarbes

Publicité